30 years Heineken Prize for Art - Jubilee exhibition

Jan van de Pavert, De vrijheid II: de vrijheid, 2016-2017. Courtesy Jan van de Pavert
Carel Visser, Charly II, 1985. Collectie Groninger Museum. Foto John Stoel
Yvonne Dröge Wendel. Moments in the ThinkTank – The honourable members, 2017. Foto Photo Donghwan Kam
Daan van Golden, Margrieten / Made in Tokyo (1963). Collectie Museum Voorlinden
Karel Martens, Colours on the Beach, 2017, Le Havre (FR). Foto Elodie Boyer. Met dank aan Karel Martens.
Toon Verhoef, Zonder titel, 1986. Collectie Van Abbemuseum. Foto Peter Cox
Job Koelewijn, Fragmentarium, 2001. Collectie Van Abbemuseum, foto Peter Cox
Peter Struyken, Structuur XXXVII, 1967. Collectie Van Abbemuseum. Foto Peter Cox
Wendelien van Oldenborgh. Prologue: Squat/Anti Squat, 2016 (still). Courtesy Wendelien van Oldenborgh / Wilfried Lentz, Rotterdam.
Aernout Mik, still uit Middlemen, 2001. Courtesy Aernout Mik, Galerie Carlier Gebauer, Berlijn
Barbara Visser, Le monde appartient à ceux qui se levent tôt, 2002. Courtesy Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam.
Toon Verhoef, Zonder titel, 2017. Galerie Onrust, Amsterdam. Foto Peter Cox

30 years Heineken Prize for Art Jubilee exhibition

14/07/2018 - 30/09/2018
Curators: Steven ten Thije, Diana Franssen
work by all 16 laureates

This year the prestigious Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art has its 30-year anniversary. The prize of €100.000 is awarded biannually to a prominent Dutch artist. The 2018 laureate is Erik van Lieshout. A perfect reason for a celebration of all the laureates and a unique opportunity to look at the development of Dutch artistic practice over three decades. The extensive exhibition includes more than 75 works by the 16 artists. The works range across the artistic spectrum from paintings to sculpture, photography, graphics, (video) installations and design. 

The selected works are drawn from all the laureates and offera unique overview of the Dutch artistic landscape, full of both contrast and unexpected connections and continuity. Of the two most recent laureates, Erik van Lieshout will create a new, room- filling reinstallation of his work Die Insel, and Yvonne Dröge Wendel will present new work made specifically with the support of the award. As well as watching and listening to the works, touching or even smelling is also required in order to fully experience the experimental and sometimes playful tradition that has largely defined Dutch art since 1988. 

The laureates since 1988

2018 Erik van Lieshout
2016 Yvonne Dröge Wendel
2014 Wendelien van Oldenborgh
2012 Peter Struycken
2010 Mark Manders
2008 Barbara Visser
2006 Job Koelewijn
2004 Daan van Golden
2002 Aernout Mik
2000 Guido Geelen
1998 Jan van de Pavert
1996 Karel Martens
1994 Matthijs Röling
1992 Carel Visser
1990 Marrie Bot
1988 Toon Verhoef

Symposium cultural patronage

In the context of the exhibition, an international symposium on cultural patronage will take place on Thursday 20th September in the Van Abbemuseum.

The 2018 laureate - Erik van Lieshout

Erik van Lieshout has received the prize for "the radical, personal and confrontational nature of his work." The formal presentation of the award will take place on September 27, 2018 in Amsterdam, accompanied by the presentation of the five scientific Heineken prizes.

Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art

The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art has been awarded every two years since 1988 to an outstanding artist living and working in the Netherlands. It is the largest visual arts prize in the Netherlands, financed from a private fund, the Dr. A.H. Heineken Foundation for Art. Alfred Heineken introduced the prize, which was named after himself, as recognition and encouragement of talent in the arts in the Netherlands. It is a prestigious and generous prize, also in comparison with international awards.

The laureate receives 100,000€, half of which is intended for a publication and/or an exhibition. The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art—together with five major prizes for science—is awarded by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW).


The exhibition is accompanied by a bilingual publication that offers an overview of the exhibition through images of the laureates’ artworks and contextualisation of the prize in essays by Renée Steenbergen on private patronage and by Steven ten Thije and Diana Franssen on the changing artistic landscape of contemporary art in the Netherlands, as well as information on each project.


Curators: Diana Franssen, Steven ten Thije
Assistant Curator: Alyxandra Westwood
Dr. A.H. Heineken Foundation for Art: Pauline Akkerman, Sujata Kedaria

Registrar Exhibitions: Angeliki Petropoulos
Registrar Collection: Kim Sluijter

Conservation: Alice van der Knokke, Aurora Loerakker, Toos Nijssen

Graphic design: 75B, Rotterdam
DTP: Bregje Schoffelen

Production: Antoine Derksen, Diederik Koppelmans, Theo Wajon
Installation: Gijs Blankers, Hamid Boulghagh, Perry van Duijnhoven, Stef van den Dungen, Benno Hartjes, Frank van de Heuvel, Ronald Kalicharan, Pim Kersten, Rob Middleton, Erik Slijpen, Carlo Storimans, Leon Vos, Michel van Weegberg

Almetaal, Eindhoven
Studio van der Zandt, Eindhoven
Henk Visser DigiEmotion

Communication: Nicole de Boer PR & Co*, Ilse Cornelis, Marijke van Hal
Mediation: Hilde van der Heijden
Guides: Hosts and cicerones

Courtesy Yvonne Dröge-Wendel: Lumen Travo Gallery, Amsterdam
Courtesy Daan van Golden: Andriesse Eyck Gallery, Amsterdam
Courtesy Job Koelewijn: Galerie Fons Welters, Amsterdam
Courtesy Erik van Lieshout: Galerie Krinzinger, Wenen/Vienna; Maureen Paley, Londen/London en/and Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam
Courtesy Mark Manders: Zeno X Gallery, Antwerpen/Antwerp
Courtesy Karel Martens: Wilfried Lentz, Rotterdam
Courtesy Aernout Mik: carlier l gebauer, Berlijn/Berlin
Courtesy Wendelien van Oldenborgh: Wilfried Lentz, Rotterdam
Courtesy Peter Struycken: Andriesse Eyck Gallery, Amsterdam
Courtesy Toon Verhoef: Galerie Onrust, Amsterdam
Courtesy Barbara Visser: Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam

30 years Heineken Prize for Art consists of :