Award ceremony Theodora Niemeijer Prize 2016

Theodora Niemeijer prijs 2016
Genomineerde Marieke Gelissen. Foto Ilse van Loon
Genomineerde Sissel Marie Tonn. Foto: Ilse van Loon
Genomineerden Rosa Johanna en Lotte van der Woude. Foto Ilse van Loon
Het Oog. Photo Peter Cox

Award ceremony Theodora Niemeijer Prize 2016

19:00 - 21:00

for emerging women artists

Tonight the winner of the Theodora Niemeijer Prize 2016 will be announced. The Theodora Niemeijer Prize is the only Dutch prize for visual arts specifically dedicated to women. A jury has selected three finalists – in random order - Marieke Gelissen, Sissel Marie Tonn, and the duo Lotte van der Woude and Rosa Johanna.

The programme

19.00  welcome drink at Karel 1 museum café
19.30  award ceremony in the auditorium
      - word of welcome by director Charles Esche;
      - screening short films of the candidates;
      - reading of the jury report by Wendelien van Oldenborgh;
      - announcing the first, second and third place by Isolde Hallensleben.
Followed by a drink at the museum café.

The winner will receive a prize with a value of € 10,000 and can realise her project from end of September 2016 for a period of six months.  The second and third place receive €2.500 and €1.500 respectively. 

The nominees:

Marieke Gelissen
With I didn’t see it coming Marieke Gelissen wants to initiate a sculptural intervention in Het Oog in which she invites visitors to explore their physical relationship to this space. The back wall of Het Oog is transformed into a three-dimensional object: a cone. The monumental cone, about 18 meters long, will be installed vertically and will protrude above the eaves.

Sissel Marie Tonn
Intimate Earthquake Archives is a proposal by Sissel Marie Tonn in which she wants to explore the relationship between human experience and an environment undergoing change. It’s an interactive installation that allows participants to access and experience all the earthquakes recorded in Groningen - related to the gas drilling -  to date.

Lotte van der Woude and Rosa Johanna
In the project RE-USE – REFUSE Lotte van der Woude and Rosa Johanna will turn Het Oog into a site specific court room. They will examine an imaginary charge of keeping an artwork, that is currently stored within the depot of the Van Abbemuseum, out of the public eye. Why is this artwork kept ‘hidden’? The period ends with a final verdict on whether the art work deserves a public or not.

The jury of the Theodora Niemeijer Prize 2016

- Saskia Bak, director of Museum Arnhem;
- Annie Fletcher, chief curator exhibitions Van Abbemuseum;
- Isolde Hallensleben, programme maker, presentor, columnist;
- Wendelien van Oldenborgh, artist;
- Antoon Ott, board member Stichting Niemeijer Fonds.

The Theodora Niemeijer Prize was introduced in 2012 because women are still a minority in exhibitions and museum collections. This year sees the third edition of the prize. It is awarded once every two years to the artist who presents the best project proposal for Het Oog (The Eye). Het Oog is an oval shaped outdoor space in the Van Abbemuseum and serves as a platform which is made available for six months to the artist who is selected.

Made possible in part by