2013 Visible Award - The jury as a public event

Inrichting Strabrecht tentoonstelling nr 2
Kill Your Darlings
Kill Your Darlings

2013 Visible Award The jury as a public event

10:00 - 21:00

Onderstaande tekst is alleen beschikbaar in het Engels.

On 14 December the Van Abbemuseum will host the second edition of the Visible Award. The attendees of this event will be part of the prestigious jury, as they decide together who will win the 2013 Visible Award.

Visible. where art leaves its own field and becomes visible as part of something else

A project by Cittadellarte – Fondazione Pistoletto and Fondazione Zegna, curated by Matteo Lucchetti and Judith Wielander

On occasion of its second edition, the Visible Award evolves it project and seeks an innovative approach that passes through a more transparent methodology around its jury session which takes form during a public event at the museum. The jury session will not only be a confrontation between experts, in order to select an exemplary socially engaged art project, but rather a moment for sharing knowledge and collective learning, that in the process of assessing the winning project will hopefully create an opportunity to put at work the vast network of professionals existing around the Visible project.

On 14 December the prestigious, interdisciplinary jury, chaired by Charles Esche, will gather a together in order to assess the merits of the 10 shortlisted projects and select the winner of the 2013 Visible Award. Next to the five invited jury members, the audience of the event represents the sixth member of the jury and will be able to put in a public vote.

The ten projects that will be assessed, have been shortlisted among a list of 34 art projects nominated by the 2013 Visible advisory board and the 48 projects received, for the first time, through an open call. The ten shortlisted projects are:
Sammy Baloji, Kumbuka (Congo);
Beta Local, From-Tool-to-Tool! (Puerto Rico);
Mabe Bethonico, Museum of Public Concerns (Brazil);
Bophana Audiovisual Resource Center, One Dollar (Cambodia);
Beatrice Catanzaro, Bait Al Karama, (Palestina);
Fernando García-Dory, Paese Nuovo / New Country – Borgate (Italy);
Inkanyiso (Zanele Muholi), Oui Twenty/20 (South Africa);
Ahmet Ögüt, The Silent University (Turkey);
The Propeller Group, Christ the King of Bling (Vietnam);
Ruangrupa, The Gerobak Bioskop  (Cinema Cart) Network (Indonesia).

The invited members of the jury are: Tania Bruguera (artist, New York), Joseph Grima (architect, writer, former editor of Domus, Milan), Jeanne Van Heeswijk (artist, Rotterdam), Koyo Kouho (curator, artistic Director of Raw Material Company, Dakar), Nikos Papastergiadis (contemporary social-cultural studies professor, Sydney), and Michelangelo Pistoletto (artist, artistic director of Cittadellarte, Biella).


10.15 Charles Esche: Welcome
10.30 Matteo Lucchetti, Judith Wielander, Charles Esche: How the visible award took shape, the role of the jurors, structure and rules of the award
10:45 Jurors introduce themselves and their motivation to be there
11.15 Matteo Lucchetti and Judith Wielander: presentation of the 10 shortlisted projects ca

12.45 lunch

14.15 Charles Esche: Summary of the 10 shortlisted projects as seen by external points of view
15.00 Jury response and debate with audience
16.00 Coffee Break and first jury vote (distribution voting carts)
16:30 Jury write down their top 3
16:45 announcement of the top 3
17.00 Each jury member advocates for the project they would like the public to vote for
18.00 Public vote
18.30 Announcement Winning Project.


Sign up here to be part of the 2013 Visible Award on 14 December 2013.

Dit onderdeel wordt voor u geblokkeerd omdat het externe cookies bevat. Wilt u deze (en andere) content alsnog bekijken? Door hier op te klikken geeft u alsnog toestemming voor het plaatsen van externe cookies.
Dit onderdeel wordt voor u geblokkeerd omdat het tracking cookies bevat. Wilt u deze (en andere) content alsnog bekijken? Door hier op te klikken geeft u alsnog toestemming voor het plaatsen van tracking cookies.